Trendcrusher

Interview with The Algorithm

leave a comment »

The Algorithm is the project of French producer Rémi Gallego. His style of music has been described as “infuses modern metal breakdowns with a menagerie of electronic subgenres such as IDM, chiptune and breakcore to concoct his own potent style of fiercely heavy music.
In November last year, Basick records released their debut album ‘Polymorphic Code‘. Find out more about the album, how Remi started the project and his plans for 2013.

ALGO-live

Hi Remi, you just finished a short tour of the UK with Collision. How did it go?

Remi : A short but nonetheless exciting tour. It has been really fun to travel through a bit on England and I’m looking forward to do more of this. It has been a really nice experience to share the stage with Collisions, these guys did an awesome job.

Your debut album ‘Polymorphic Code’ released a few months ago. Tell us a bit about it.

Remi : Polymorphic Code tells the story of a group of human hackers trying to get into a distant network using various viruses and hacking techniques. I loved working on this album, I think it has this storytelling side of music I’ve always wanted to explore even more.

What was the recording process like? How long did it take?

Remi : I didn’t want to finish a specific track before the other ones, that’s why all has been written pretty much in parallel. It wasn’t really practical to constantly switch from a track to another, but it gave more consistency to the whole album in the end. It took about a year, with periods of nothing, to get it done.

The video for ‘Trojans’ has close to 100,000 views on youtube. Tell us a bit about the video.

Remi : It’s not an easy thing to put instrumental music in video form, especially when so much instruments and moods are involved. We decided to take the road of an abstract feel, but giving at the same time an idea of what the live setup looks like. It was my first time on a green screen, an amazing experience!

How/When did you start ‘The Algorithm’?

Remi : I started The Algorithm as a bedroom project with a cheap laptop and cheap speakers. I used to think I wanted to do Mathcore influenced by The Dillinger Escape Plan. I progressively started messing around with synths and glitches, and found myself thinking that it’d fit well, it was luck and trial and error. I put my first demos on websites like lastfm, and I didn’t expect such a good feedback from the listeners, so I released another demo 1 year later and then it all took off exponentially.

Do you enjoy being the only songwriter or find it frustrating at times?

Remi : I like brainstorming ideas on my own, I’m the kind of guy who’s better as an independant than working on a team. I’m really looking forward to broaden my horizons and collaborate with more musicians though, I’m not that selfish.

France is not known for its metal bands, which metal bands did you grow up listening to?

Remi : Iron Maiden was my first love in metal music, and I used to be a huge fanboy of their stuffs. For some reason, I used to listen to a lot of 70’s/80’s metal before even trying to discover some modern bands. I progressively got into The Dillinger Escape Plan, Born Of Osiris, Veil Of Maya, some years later.

You’ve performed at the past 2 editions of the Euroblast festival. How has the experience been?

Remi : A huge, exciting, amazing experience! Being part of the Euroblast festival is always an honour and a thrill, I don’t have anything to reproach at what have been done with the 2012 edition.

It was also really interesting to play as a DJ during the aftershow, we all know that making metalheads dance is not an easy thing, but everybody seemed to enjoy it. So did i!

What are your plans for 2013? More Tours planned?

Remi : More collaborations with artists. I’m currently working with a singeron a progressive dubstep project, and I’m also already planning to let more musicians express their talent on some of my newer tracks. I’m also looking forward to play at summer festivals and blast some electronic science in an outdoor venue context, hopefully with lots of beers, girls and nerd humour. 🙂

Listen/DownloadPolymorphic Codehere

Written by trendcrusher

January 22, 2013 at 2:39 am

Leave a Reply

