Trendcrusher

Interview with Reptilian Death

leave a comment »

Sahil Makhija is the most dedicated musician I have met in India. This weekend his death metal project Reptilian Death will release their 2nd album ‘The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence’ with a new line up.

Find out more about the album, the new line up and more in my interview with Sahil below.

RD

Hi Sahil, your album ‘The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence’ releases this weekend. How does it feel to be releasing a Reptilian Death album after 7 years?

It feels great man. This has been a long time coming. As a musician I want to release songs the moment they are done but we took a really long time to get everything in place with this band apart from the music as well and I practiced my ass off for the last 2 years on the drums so that I could record live. So it’s all come full circle and it feels great to have this album on the shelves.

The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence

The album sounds brutal and twisted. What inspired you during the song writing process?

For me the music writing process happens over time when I sit down and play guitar. There is nothing specific for it. I listen to a lot of music and metal over the years and that is what inspires me. I think I just write songs and then go okay this is more suited to DR or RD or Workshop and just get those songs to the respective bands. With RD the first draft of all the songs got done and we had 12 songs from which I actually dropped one and wrote a new one right towards the end of the writing process. Vinays lyrics and vocal style added a completely different dimension to what I envisioned and in a good way because it probably gave the album that slightly different flavour.

You were responsible for the recording and production of the album. How long did the recording process take?

This album was a task because I recorded 10 songs and my amp blew after which I re-recorded all 12 songs and then after a while I was not happy with the sound of it. Same for the bass we recorded the bass twice because we wanted to get the best possible sound for the album. I’d say it was over a period of 12 to 18 months of actual recording. In the end I think am very happy with the result.

How did Vinay and Ashwin become part of Reptilian Death?

I had seen Ashwins bass videos online when Daniel Rego (DR) shared it with me once and I also jammed with him for the DR All-Star gig so when I asked if he was interested in auditioning he readily agreed. Probably the best audition ever. He walked in plugged into the computer, I loaded up track 12 and said are you ready and he said yes and I he recorded the entire song in 1 take. It was flawless and I said you’re hired. As for Vinay I knew I wanted someone else to do the vocals and lyrics because I was creatively drained and also I wanted to focus on just playing the drums. I’m very picky about my death metal vocals and I wanted someone who was a commanding presence on stage and could give Reptilian Death the frontman it required and Vinay was an obvious choice. I asked him and he readily agreed.

The first live performance with the new line up was a surprise set at the 5th edition of Domination – the Deathfest that was held recently. How were the preparations leading up to the gig?

It was pretty intense, we practised our asses off. I was extremely nervous about dropping my sticks during the set and we did many rehearsals with the mask on to ensure we would be stage ready.

Do you have anything special planned for the album launch at Blue Frog in Mumbai this weekend?

No one has seen us before apart from the few at deathfest. The songs are all new. We don’t need anything special. Just come and experience Reptilian Death.

Buy ‘The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence’ here and here

check out ‘O’ from the album below

Leave a Reply

