Trendcrusher

Interview with A Pale Horse Named Death

with one comment

A Pale Horse named Death is a goth/doom metal band from from Brooklyn, New York. Started by Sal Abruscato (Ex-Type O Negative), the band released their debut album ‘…And Hell Will Follow Me‘ 2 years ago and have recently released a new album ‘Lay My Soul to Waste‘.
Read more about the album, their inspiration and more in my interview with Sal below.

APHND_2013_1


Hi Sal, you recently released your second album “Lay My Soul to Waste”. Can you tell us a bit about it?

Sal: LMSTW is a very dark and epic album, we wanted it to sound even bigger and better than the first. I dove into writing even darker and more orchestrated, I pushed my vocals harder and experimented a lot with harmonies. Fans can expect to find the original traits from the first album but we brought a bit more piano and organ into the picture along with just a better and darker sound. Plus having it mastered by Ted Jensen was the icing on the cake.

The album was released two years after your to debut album ‘…And Hell Will Follow Me’. How long did the song writing and recording process take?

Sal: I started coming up with ideas right after the first album, over the course of a year and a half I wrote and then we began recording summer through late fall of 2012, mixed over the holidays and then Mastered in Jan of 2013.

How different is “Lay My Soul to Waste” compared to ‘…And Hell Will Follow Me’?

Sal: It’s different in a good way with a natural progression from the first album. We just pushed harder with vocals, production and fine tuning what we started on the first record.

Were you surprised by the response to your debut album ‘…And Hell Will Follow Me’?

Sal: Yeah I was at the same time I was relieved that I did not get torn to shreds. To me it was a good start.

Both your albums have been released by Steamhammer/SPV. How did you get signed to them?

Sal: Not sure I believe a mutual friend turned our A&R rep Mairia on to our record and she liked it a lot and signed us to SPV. It’s been great so far for us.

Your music is dark and bleak. What is the inspiration behind it?

Sal: My really twisted mind. I create movies in my head and I run with it. A lot of times I see the vision before I write the words. Plus it helps to just be a dark depressing personality, which has pros and cons as we know.

What are your plans for the rest of the year? Do you have any tours planned?

Sal: Working on it as we speak, got some new agents almost in place and we will see what happens. I am looking forward to touring the states actually, we can’t wait.

Any Final words?

Sal: Thank you for the opportunity and thank you to the fans that make this all possible.

Check out ‘Killer by night’ below

Written by trendcrusher

June 16, 2013 at 4:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cool!

    Lilia Lilina

    June 18, 2013 at 9:20 pm


Leave a Reply

