Trendcrusher

Iron Maiden

leave a comment »

Iron Maiden are one of my favorite bands. I have managed to see them live twice in Dubai. The second time was 4 years ago during their “Somewhere back in Time” tour. Here is an article I wrote about the show for Spin Earth.

The place to be on Friday the 13th was Dubai Media City Amphitheater in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.There was a gathering of not only teenagers in black t-shirts but of metal listeners of all ages, some who even brought their kids along. The reason for the gathering was IRON MAIDEN!

This was their second appearance in the United Arab Emirates, the first being 2 years ago at the Dubai Desert Rock 2007. I did have a chance to see Iron Maiden perform then alongside 10,000 other fans. This time around was special for me as they performed songs from their album “Powerslave“, which is my favourite Iron Maiden album.

The opening act for the show was Lauren Harris. I saw her also at Dubai Desert Rock 2007. She was promoting her new album “Calm before the storm”. She sounded ok, not really something I am into. Her guitarist, Richie is pretty good and had a few nice solos.The sound for her was a lot better than the last time I saw her, so I was expecting it to be a lot better for Maiden.

After short change over, it was time, the moment everyone was waiting for, The Churchill speech, followed by “Aces High“. The crowd (including me) went crazy. It was a great show. As mentioned earlier, the set consisted of tracks from the “Powerslave” and “Somewhere in time” albums. They played a few tracks that were a bit of a surprise, “Children Of The Damned“, “Evil That Men Do” and the biggest one being the 13 minute epic “Rime Of The Ancient Mariner“.

Iron Maiden

The highlights of the concert for me were when they played POWERSLAVE, hearing the song live along with the pyrotechnics and also seeing Bruce in a Mask! It was awesome. Another was seeing Cyber Eddie.“said Vineet M.

It was the first time for some like Asanga M seeing Iron Maiden live. “I had some high expectations going into the concert” he said”This was one of my favorite bands and not only the band that got me INTO heavy metal but into playing guitar in general. I probably would not have picked up a guitar if I had not heard The Trooper.

Overall it was a great night. Great performance by the band. The sound was also really good. I have been looking to this tour for some time now (since I last saw them live) and I am glad i got to catch it. Can’t wait to see them on their next tour.

Written by trendcrusher

September 25, 2013 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

