Trendcrusher

Feathers of Jatinga

leave a comment »

Yesterday while checking soundcloud I found out that Feathers of Jatinga released a 4 track instrumental EP here. Going through my emails today I found an interview I did with Vishal J Singh and Vedant 3 years ago for Indianrockmp3.

Feathers of Jatinga is a new project of Vishal Singh (Amogh Symphony) that features Vedant (Shades of Retribution) on vocals. They have released 2 singles, “Frozen Lies” and “Master who Bleeds” and are currently working on their debut album. I had a chat with Vishal and Vedant about their new project, what to expect from the album and if we would see them live soon.

Feathers of Jatinga

Hi Vishal and Vedant, Hows it going?

Vedant: We guys are doin’ great! We are really happy with the way things are shaping up….

You know each other for some time now since you are childhood friends, when did you decide to start “Feathers of Jatinga”?

Vedant: Exactly! We are from the same town, Duliajan (Assam). We are great family friends.
So it all started very young for us, I would say from the very basics. We wrote songs together, rehearsed together, played in our first band together,(Infinite Ashes),shared the same apartment together in Pune…..So…Yeah!
Vishal: Actually, Vedant and my brother Vikram are childhood friends and that’s how I met him. We are more like blood brothers. The understanding between us is very naturally mutual and we trust on each other’s decisions in songwriting. I think back in 2000, it was Iron Maiden that influenced both of us. We used to play almost a whole setlist of Iron Maiden covers during weekend rehearsals.

We decided to start Feathers of Jatinga last year when Vishal came home for a few days and we were having beer on my terrace. It was In July and the next thing we knew…we were writing and composing left and right….hahaha.

Vishal: Yes. We were actually talking about all those earlier songs that we wrote together between 2001 – 2003 for our first band “Infinite Ashes” but we never got the chance to include them in the setlist. It was because of differences in thoughts and ideas between us and the rest of the band mates. In September 2003, I remember it was Vedant’s birthday. There were many friends and another band in the party. I was so badly drunk with the rest of the band mates and I had a fist-fight with Uday (Bassist of Infinite Ashes). The situation turned worse. Vedant and I also had a big fight and argument. That evening, I said goodbye to the band and moved back to home (Duliajan, Assam) for a month. We all were young and a little wild. I was the youngest member in the band (I was 18 years old) and a complete hot-headed teenager. I regretted about it much later when I started missing my band members especially Vedant with whom I was so close like a brother. Then I heard Vedant also decided to quit Infinite Ashes and joined death metal band IIIrd Sovereign in New Delhi as their new front man. I knew that IIIrd Sovereign got the best death metal front man for their line-up. Few years after that incident, we met at my Late Father’s last ritual in our hometown. We share a common story of life (Vedant, who was also very attached to his Father, lost him when he was very young). I think since then we started talking to each other once again and finally in July 2010, we recalled everything during that beer session on his terrace. Feathers of Jatinga was actually a song that we made in 2002. We both agreed to keep this name for this project because it’s related to our personal experiences in life.

Tell us a bit about then Album, what are the songs like? Similar to “Frozen Lies” and “Master Who Bleeds”?

Vedant: The sound gives you a cold and dark ambience of the North-Eastern winter in Upper Assam which will be heard on most of the songs. The songs I would say will be mostly about the sing along choruses, clean atmospheric vocals and very importantly, melody playing a key factor.

Vishal : All I can tell that if you are sick of hearing extreme technical death metal, progressive metal and djent and looking for atmospheric metal with simple structures for a change, I am sure you will love this album. Instrumentally, the songs are all about straight-in-your-face arrangement and Doom influenced riffs. I would honestly say that Amogh Symphony fans would not enjoy this album so much if they are expecting anything like Abolishing the Obsolete system or The Quantum Hack Code. This album is for the listeners who are philosophers and thinkers in their daily life. It’s dark but yet very positive. Positive thoughts of our mind that makes us a human on occasions. It’s all about realization in life. Everyone has a story just like mine and Vedant’s. And this album is a fuel for those positive thoughts about life.

What are the songs about?

Vedant: The songs are based on human instincts, paranormal behavior, parallel existence, mixed emotions and feelings and personal experiences as well. For example, “The Master who bleeds” talks about a Pupil’s sacrifice of all his master’s preachings, principles, moral ethics and values and above all, his oath to follow the light of truth. All these turns to dust when the pupil stains his hands with sins to eradicate evil from the society which the Master cannot bear and banishes him from his life and wisdom.

Since you live in cities in two different ends of India, how are the songs written?

Vedant: Vishal comes up with the melody and the pattern of the songs, mails it to me with the arrangement sheet, I write the lyrics and the vocal melodies, record my vocals in Guwahati at Lucid Recess Studios (thanks to Siddarth Barooa from Lucid Recess), mail it to Vishal who finally does all the overall layering, mixing and mastering.

Vedant, why the shift from IIIrd Sovereign and Shades of Retribution to something mellow like Feathers of Jatinga?

Vedant: Not a shift really… I always had these ideas and concept written down for such projects and Feathers of Jatinga is the perfect ground for executing these ideas and concepts.

Vedant on clean vocals is a bit of a surprise to those who know you from IIIrd Sovereign and Shades of Retribution.
Do you have any formal training? Do you have any practice rituals or exercises that you do for your vocals?

Vedant: Naaaaahhhh……it was just the tapes for me! The loo is the place for me that provides me the practice pad…hahahaha.
Vishal: You guys should listen to Vedant when he sings Bhojpuri songs. His Bhojpuri vocal version of Iron Maiden’s “The trooper” is just insane.

Vishal, you always manage to get a clean and polished sound on all your projects. Where do you record and what equipment do you use?

Vishal: I used to record at my buddy Prashant’s home studio setup. His equipment is very awesome. I don’t rely on too many Equipments and plugins for production because it’s a very bad habit for a composer/arranger. Mixing is all about how you and your own ears want to hear it. I made a very simple setup for Feathers of Jatinga track arrangement. In DAW, I use Nuendo 4, Wave effects plugins and in Synth, Omnisphere by Spectrasonics. I used the same Aria Pro II Custom made Cardinal Series Guitar in the songs with Pod XT bean.

If given an opportunity which Bollywood music producer would you like to work with?

Vishal: Oh well! I am not sure about Producer. I think Benny Benegal (my former Trainer) is one great Bollywood producer with whom I would love to work with. Talking about music composer, I would say Vishal Bharadwaj (not because we share the same name). Even though A.R Rahman gets all the praise and support from thousands of fans, I think Vishal Bharadwaj is another phenomenal Bollywood music composer/producer who is kind of underrated. It’s a similar situation like Periphery and Animals As Leaders (if you understand what I mean) in Djent. Consider Rahman as Periphery and Bharadwaj as AAL.

Will the Album be released through a label or independently? What are the plans for distribution of it?

Vishal: Well, we are talking to few labels here and there. Not really sure about that but least we can do is printing some CD’s and distribute everywhere. Digital copies will be up as well.

Since you both are based in India, is there a possibility of doing live gigs after the release of the album?

Vedant: Haven’t planned anything yet. We will keep you guys updated though.

Vishal: Depends on our extreme busy schedules. I am very greedy when it comes to gigs. We need good money first and then we are on. We are not living in the past era of “Playing metal in the name of unity”. Like I always say, I want the session musicians (Drummer, Bassist, and Second Guitarist) to be paid well on time after shows. There are many great bands in our country who are still unpaid and they face such problem everyday. I love each and every fans and friends but before any legal work related to decent payments on time, doing live gigs will be suicide for us. If you guys buy our album and support us, may be Event Groups will show some love to us. Just like Amogh Symphony, everything depends on CD sales. It’s really a bliss to have greatest fans and friends who supports your music. But “Support” doesn’t help a band or artist to grow up financially. And there is no point in sacrificing your lifestyle just in the name of “supporting the scene”. I am totally against of this thought.

Are you working currently on any other projects?

Vedant: Yeah…I’m with shades Of Retribution as well and soon we will be releasing a new single produced by Vishal.

What are your plans for the rest of 2011?

Vedant : Let us release the album first…that’s what we are concentrating on as of right now!

Any final words?

Vedant : Hope you like the album.

Written by trendcrusher

June 27, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

